Award of cups – AGM 2024

The cups for winners in the summer and autumn shows were awarded at the AGM. Unfortunately our president Fleur Anderson MP was delayed so Sheila Konig stepped in to present.



Rob and Ali Linton won 2 summer cups – The Lady Corry for the best vase of multiflora roses and the Hugh and Lady Linstead for the best display of sweet peas.



The Lady Hudson cup for the most beautiful / fragrant rose – which was judged by visitors to the show went to Sheila Konig, presented by Carol Martinez, Show Chair.



Jean and Patrick Crawford won the WTF Iles Memorial for the best exhibit for 1 vegetable, 1 fruit and 1 flower.



Simon Hill won the RE Challenge Cup (Douglas Overall) for the best vegetable in the summer show with his magnificent mange tout.



The novice cup was presented to Chin Pham and his son (Barnes & Mortlake Herald/Derrick Ratcliffe Challenge cup).



Shan Karwatowska won the Ladies cup for the most points in the summer cookery category.



Vivien Fowler won the Dr Miguel Lacroze for her always fabulous harvest collection in the autumn show.



Tony and Sarah de Souza won the autumn cookery cup.



Carol Martinez won 3 autumn cups - the Tommie Noon for a display of 5 different vegetables, the Reta Challenge/Leslie Harvey Memorial cup for the best vegetable (a truss of tomatoes), and the Hugh and Marie Jenkins cup for the most points for vegetables in the autumn show.



Mariangela Renshaw swept the board, winning 5 cups this year covering both the summer and autumn shows. For the summer the Barbara Dacie cup for the best flower display in a goblet, the A Norman Rogers Challenge cup for the best vase of cut flowers and the Dr Howard Coulthard cup for the best bowl of roses. Autumn cups are the Jack Hawkins Challenge cup for the best vase of 4 different flowers and the Ben Dandey Memorial cup for the best exhibit of dahlias. Mariangela also takes home the Banksian Medal which is awarded to the winner of the most points for horticultural entries. It cannot go to the same person within 3 years and is for keeps.



Raj Patel won the cup for the most points for fruit in both shows. (Rev PG Wallis)

Once again there is a cup for each of the best plots on each site.



On site 2 the winner for this year is Carolyn Singer (Davis Memorial.)



On site 3 it is Madeleine Neave (Percy Barnes Memorial).

We also awarded a Certificate of Excellence to plot-holders who have recently taken on a plot and in a short space of time have turned it around.

Plot 2 – Both James Lacy Smith and Thongchai Poopinyoyin won a certificate but could not be at the AGM.



Steve Haynes collected his award for himself and Julia Gosling.



On Site 3 – Cameron de Buck and Harriet Pim.

Emma Cheasty also won a certificate but could not be there on the night.



There was also a special certificate for Bob Aveling to recognise his exceptional contributions to the society over the years, especially so when site 3 opened up for the National Garden Scheme this summer.



A gift was presented to Helen Finch to thank her for her services as Chair of the Roehamton Garden Society. What would we do without her!